Table of Contents
11 min read
Free GPS Tracker for Fleets: What a $0 Device Costs Over 12 and 36 Months
A free GPS tracker carries no upfront hardware charge but shifts that cost into a higher monthly rate and a one-time activation fee. On Btracking's…
What a free GPS tracker plan includes
A free GPS tracker plan eliminates the upfront hardware cost but redistributes that cost across a higher monthly rate, a one-time activation fee, and a set of ownership terms that do not apply to purchased hardware.
How the money moves
With a purchased tracker, the Standard platform subscription runs $12.95 per vehicle per month. The free-device path raises that rate to $13.95 per month, a $1.00/month premium, and adds a one-time activation fee on top:
- $20.00 activation for the free hardwired tracker
- $20.00 activation for the free plug-in tracker without CANBus vehicle data
- $25.00 activation for the free plug-in tracker with CANBus vehicle data (odometer, fuel level, battery voltage, coolant temperature, RPM, VIN)
All terms of the free-device plan
- No upfront hardware purchase; the tracker ships at no equipment cost
- Monthly subscription: $13.95 on the Standard platform
- One-time activation fee as listed above
- The device may be a used unit
- The tracker remains Btracking property for the life of the subscription
- To exit the subscription, the device must be returned in proper working condition, or purchased outright for an $85 buyout fee
- Warranty coverage terminates upon device buyout
- The 30-day money-back guarantee applies to purchased hardware only; it does not extend to free-device subscriptions
Paying the $85 buyout to keep the device and end the subscription also ends warranty coverage on that unit. Factor this into any exit-cost calculation.
The hardware is not a lesser product
The free-device path is a financing structure, not a product downgrade. The free plug-in tracker carries product sheets BP52 (no CANBus) and BP55 (with CANBus), the same sheets as the purchased BP50 Series. It reports location every minute when moving and every six hours when stopped, buffers up to 1,000 messages, and includes an internal backup battery, BLE 4.2/5.0, and a built-in triple-axis accelerometer. The free hardwired tracker is identical in specification to the purchased BHW920 Compact Hardwired Vehicle Tracker: the same 3.0 in × 1.7 in × 0.5 in footprint, ignition sensing, one digital and one analog input, BLE, and 128 MB onboard memory. The choice between free-device and purchased hardware is entirely about cash flow and ownership, not capability.
For guidance on which installation type suits a given vehicle or use case, see the OBD vs hardwired vs battery GPS tracker guide before selecting a plan.
What buying outright includes
Purchasing a tracker outright means you own the hardware immediately, pay a lower ongoing rate, and have nothing to return at the end of service.
The BP50 Series Plugin Vehicle Tracker is $69.99 without CANBus data or $79.99 with CANBus data. The BHW920 Compact Hardwired Vehicle Tracker is $59.99. Once either device is purchased, the Standard platform subscription runs at $12.95/month. After the initial term, the subscription continues month-to-month and can be cancelled with 10 business days' notice.
Ownership has two practical consequences. First, there is no return obligation: the device is yours regardless of whether you continue the subscription. Second, the warranty terms are tied directly to subscription continuity. The lifetime hardware warranty holds as long as the subscription runs without interruption. If the subscription is suspended, coverage reverts to a one-year warranty from the original purchase date. Warranty coverage terminates entirely upon a device buyout.
Purchased hardware also qualifies for the 30-day money-back guarantee from the ship date, covering up to two devices of each type or model. Subscriptions are not refundable under that guarantee, and AirTrackers are excluded.
For how per-vehicle fleet GPS pricing is structured more broadly, see what fleet GPS actually costs.
The arithmetic over 12 and 36 months
The figures below are straight arithmetic on Btracking's listed prices for the Standard platform, excluding taxes, shipping, installation, and accessories, not a forecast of savings or a projection of any operational benefit.
| Option | Upfront | Monthly (Standard) | 12-month total | 36-month total | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buy BP50, plug-in, no CANBus | $69.99 | $12.95 | $225.39 | $536.19 | Buy if kept 4+ years |
| Free plug-in, no CANBus | $20.00 activation | $13.95 | $187.40 | $522.20 | Buy under 3 years; Skip at 5+ |
| Buy BP50, plug-in, with CANBus | $79.99 | $12.95 | $235.39 | $546.19 | Buy if kept 4+ years |
| Free plug-in, with CANBus | $25.00 activation | $13.95 | $192.40 | $527.20 | Buy under 3 years; Skip at 5+ |
| Buy BHW920, hardwired | $59.99 | $12.95 | $215.39 | $526.19 | Buy if kept 4+ years |
| Free hardwired | $20.00 activation | $13.95 | $187.40 | $522.20 | Buy under 3 years; Skip at 5+ |
The free device is cheaper at both 12 and 36 months across all three configurations. The mechanism is straightforward: the free option trades a lower upfront cost for a monthly rate that is $1.00 higher, $13.95 versus $12.95. That $1.00/month gap means the upfront saving erodes over time and eventually reverses. Buying outright becomes the lower cumulative spend from month 40 on the hardwired configuration, month 50 on the plug-in without CANBus, and month 55 on the plug-in with CANBus.
For operators who expect to run a vehicle for four or more years, the purchased hardware is the arithmetically correct choice in every configuration shown. For vehicles that leave the fleet within three years, including leased vehicles and vehicles on short-term contracts, the free device costs less in total.
Ending a free-device subscription and retaining the hardware requires paying the $85 buyout on top of the $20.00 activation fee already paid, for a total of $105.00. That exceeds the outright purchase price of both the BP50 ($69.99) and the BHW920 ($59.99). Operators who expect to keep the device at the end should purchase it from the outset.
Buy outright or take a free device?
The right choice depends almost entirely on how long a vehicle will stay in your fleet. The $1.00/month difference between the two subscription rates is small, but it compounds: the free device is cheaper at 12 and 36 months in every configuration, while buying outright becomes cheaper from month 40 (hardwired) or month 50–55 (plug-in).
Decision Tree
- Free device. Lower total cost at 36 months across all configurations; return it when done.Vehicle leaves, rotates, or is leased within ~3 years
- Buy outright. The BP50 Series Plugin Vehicle Tracker or BHW920 becomes the lower-cost option past the crossover month.Owned vehicle kept 4+ years (hardwired) or 5+ years (plug-in)
- Buy outright. Activation plus the $85 buyout costs $105 on a $20-activation plan, more than the $59.99–$69.99 purchase price.You want to own the tracker at the end
- Free device. $20 activation gets you started; accept that the unit may be a used device and must be returned in working order.No hardware budget available right now
Buy, Purchased hardware (BP50 or BHW920) for owned vehicles held past the crossover month (month 40 hardwired, month 50–55 plug-in). The $12.95/month subscription continues month-to-month after the initial term, cancellable with 10 business days' notice, and the device is yours with no return obligation.
Buy, Free device for leased, rotating, or short-cycle vehicles kept under ~3 years, or wherever eliminating the upfront hardware cost matters. Total cost is lower at 12 and 36 months in every configuration, and the $13.95/month rate is the only ongoing commitment.
Skip, Free device on an owned vehicle held 5+ years (plug-in) or 4+ years (hardwired). From month 40–55 onward, the free device costs more in cumulative spend, the tracker is never owned, and ending the subscription triggers either a return or a buyout that exceeds the original purchase price.
What free-device ads in this category say
Several competitors in this category run Google search ads promoting free or low-cost hardware. The table below records exactly what each ad says, as observed in the Google Ads Transparency Center on 2026-09-27. Ad copy is quoted verbatim; where a column topic does not appear in the ad, the cell reads "Not stated in the ad."
| Vendor | Advertised rate | Device, in the ad's words | Contract or fees, in the ad's words | Ad shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OneStepGPS | $13.95/mo | "No Equipment Cost" | "No Contract"; "Lifetime Warranty" | 2021-10-25 – 2025-11-21 |
| Spytec | $8.95/mo | "free hardware"; "Plug-In Fleet GPS $8.95/mo" | "no contract" | 2025-12-13 – 2026-09-26 |
| Bouncie | $9.65/month | "Purchase Your Device Online Today." | "No Activation Fees"; "No Contracts." | 2026-03-17 – 2026-09-26 |
| BrickHouse Security | Not stated in the ad | Not stated in the ad | "No Contracts Or Activation Fee" | 2023-03-13 – 2026-09-27 |
| Linxup | From $15/month | Not stated in the ad | Not stated in the ad | 2024-03-07 – 2026-08-20 |
Two points deserve direct acknowledgment before comparing further. First, Btracking is not the lowest advertised monthly rate in this set: Spytec's ad shows $8.95/mo and Bouncie's shows $9.65/month, both below Btracking's $13.95/month free-device plan. Second, the Bouncie and BrickHouse Security ads each advertise no activation fee; Btracking's free-device plan carries a one-time activation fee of $20 (hardwired or plug-in without CANBus data) or $25 (plug-in with CANBus data).
A search ad has room for a headline and a few lines of copy. Read the full terms of any vendor, Btracking included, before committing.
Questions to ask any vendor, Btracking included
- What is the all-in monthly cost per vehicle, and is it published openly without a sales call?
Btracking publishes per-vehicle pricing openly. The free-device plan is $13.95/month on the Standard platform; purchased-hardware subscriptions start at $12.95/month on Standard.
- Is there a contract, and what notice is required to cancel?
Btracking subscriptions run month-to-month with no contract and can be cancelled with ten business days' notice.
- Are there one-time fees at activation?
Btracking's free-device plan carries a one-time activation fee: $20 for the hardwired tracker, $20 for the plug-in without CANBus data, or $25 for the plug-in with CANBus data.
- Who owns the device, and what happens to it if you cancel?
On Btracking's free-device plan the tracker remains Btracking's property. Ending the subscription requires returning it in proper working condition; if it cannot be returned in that condition, a device buyout fee of $85 applies. Hardware purchased outright is owned by the customer and does not have to be returned.
- Is the "free" device new, and what is its specification relative to purchased hardware?
Either free tracker may be a used device. The free plug-in's product specification is the same as the purchased BP50 Series (BP52 without CANBus, BP55 with CANBus), and the free hardwired tracker shares the same specification as the purchased BHW920 Compact Hardwired Vehicle Tracker.
- What warranty applies, and does it survive a subscription pause?
Btracking provides a lifetime hardware warranty while a subscription runs continuously. If a subscription is suspended, a one-year-from-purchase warranty still applies. Warranty coverage terminates upon device buyout. The 30-day money-back guarantee applies to purchased hardware only (up to two devices of each type or model, from ship date) and does not cover subscriptions.
- What update interval does the device use, and is it configurable?
Btracking's free plug-in tracker reports location every minute when moving and every six hours when stopped; that interval is customizable.
Where Btracking fits when it is not the cheapest
Btracking's monthly rate is higher than the lowest advertised rates above. What it offers in return is specific enough to verify before committing.
No contract. Subscriptions run month-to-month and can be cancelled with ten business days' notice.
Lifetime hardware warranty, with one condition. The warranty holds for as long as a subscription runs continuously. If a subscription is suspended, coverage reverts to one year from the original purchase date, and it terminates entirely on device buyout.
One platform across every asset class. Btracking tracks vehicles, trailers, heavy equipment, containers, and small assets such as tools on the same fleet-management platform, on web and mobile. Vehicles and the trailers, equipment and tools they move are visible on one map under one account.
U.S.-based support engineers. Support questions are handled by engineers based in the United States.
What a customer in a comparable use case reports:
"We have been using Btracking for several years now. The tracking is easy to set up. It is a valuable asset for keeping vehicle maintenance records. Customer service is very responsive to questions and resolving problems.", Electrical contractor, service vehicle fleet
The next decision. Count the vehicles your operation expects to keep in service for four or more years. Price those on a purchased-hardware subscription, the lifetime warranty applies continuously and the month-to-month exit option limits downside. Price the remainder on the free plan. That split determines whether Btracking's total cost lands above or below alternatives for your specific mix.
Frequently asked questions
Is a free GPS tracker really free?
A free GPS tracker carries no upfront hardware charge, but the device cost is reflected in a higher monthly rate and a one-time activation fee. On Btracking's Standard plan, the free device costs $13.95/month plus $20–$25 activation, versus $12.95/month after buying a device outright. Over a long subscription the free path costs more in total.
Do I have to give the free GPS tracker back?
Yes. The free device remains Btracking property. To end the subscription, it must be returned in proper working order or purchased for an $85 buyout fee. On a $20-activation configuration, activation plus buyout totals $105, more than the $69.99 or $59.99 purchase price of the equivalent bought-outright tracker.
Is it cheaper to buy a GPS tracker or get a free one?
The free device is cheaper at both 12 and 36 months in all three Btracking configurations. Buying outright becomes cheaper from month 40 (hardwired), month 50 (plug-in without CANBus), or month 55 (plug-in with CANBus), because the free plan costs $1.00 more per month.
Can I get a free fleet GPS tracker without a contract?
Btracking's free-device plan runs month-to-month with no contract and can be cancelled with 10 business days' notice. Cancellation requires returning the device in working order or paying the $85 device buyout fee; the monthly subscription itself is not refundable.
Is the free GPS tracker new?
The free device may be a used unit. It carries the same technical specification as the equivalent purchased tracker, the free plug-in uses the BP52/BP55 product sheets and the free hardwired unit matches the BHW920 spec, but the device condition is not guaranteed to be new.
Products in this guide
Get a written quote
Tell us what you run. An engineer confirms the details and prices it.
Request a quote